National Standards for Disability Services

Recieve independent verification of your organisation’s Quality Management System – National Standards For Disability Services – NSDS by our qualified and experienced Lead Auditors and Audit Trained Service Users
Next Generation Genomics

Disability Advocacy providers are aligned to the 6 National Standards for Disability Services (NSDS).

The standards and Key Performance Indicators are applicable for Advocacy Agencies funded under the National Disability Advocacy Program by DSS to provide Advocacy services for people with disability. This is a national standard, National Disability Advocacy Program
  (NDAP) with the Department of Social Services (DSS).

Disability service providers provide direct support and care for people with an intellectual, physical, sensory or neurological disability and acquired brain injury.
 Advocacy agencies speak, act or write on behalf of disability service providers or their clients.

DSS funds all advocacy agencies under the NDAP to assist people with disabilities to overcome barriers (such as physical access, discriminatory attitudes, abuse and neglect) that impact on their daily life and their ability to participate in the community.  There are six broad models of advocacy, these include:

  • Systemic Advocacy
  • Individual Advocacy
  • Family Advocacy
  • Self Advocacy
  • Legal Advocacy
  • Citizen Advocacy

DNV GL’s Key Principals of NSDS Certification

  • Customer Focus
  • Business Leadership: Helping you and your business
  • Involvement of People
  • Process Approach
  • System Approach to Management
  • Continual Improvement
  • Factual Approach to Decision Making
  • Mutually Beneficial Supplier Relationship